Moore, Barrett, Erby Win Big at BOB Awards

Major award winners Tiffany Barrett, Khory Moore, and Justin Erby
Major award winners Tiffany Barrett, Khory Moore, and Justin Erby

Moore, Barrett, Erby Win Big at BOB Awards

VIRGINIA BEACH, Va. – Seniors Khory Moore, Tiffany Barrett, and Justin Erby claimed the three major awards Wednesday night at the first annual BOB Awards.

Khory Moore takes home the prestigious Norfolk Sports Club award, which is given annually to the top male or female senior athlete.

Moore finished his career as one of the top players in the ODAC, becoming just the second Marlin to eclipse 2,000 career points, finishing with 2,028. He scored 23.4 points per game as a senior, the highest total in the ODAC. His league prowess has been on display for years as he is a three-time All-ODAC First Team selection, also being named ODAC Rookie of the Year in 2013-14. He has also been named All-State three times, including State Player of the Year as a junior.

Moore has multiple school records, including three-pointers in a career (305) and steals in a career (191). He also has three of the top five single-season three-point totals in program laurels. Khory broke the school record for points in a game, which has been on the books since 1969, when he posted 48 points against Concordia (Texas) in November.

Tiffany Barrett was recognized with the Female Senior Athlete of the Year honor after an impressive volleyball career. She was a three-time First Team All-ODAC selection in her career and just the second All-American in program history. Tiffany is also the only volleyball player to be named an All-Region pick twice. She finished her career as the school leader in kills (1,450) and fourth in career aces (171).

Justin Erby was named the Male Senior Athlete of the Year after a phenomenal baseball career. He was a three-time All-ODAC selection, including first-team honors this season. He was recognized as a Third Team All-Region pick as a junior. He led this year's team in four major categories: batting average (.389), runs (46), home runs (5), and RBI (41).

The MAC-Donald M. Forsyth Award is given to the top sophomore or junior male and female who exemplify work ethics, sportsmanship, and commitment to sport. Junior cross country and track and field star, Marissa Coombs, took home the award for the ladies while baseball junior Corey King claimed the honor for the men.

Female Freshman Athlete of the Year went to Hanna Hull after an impressive year for the softball team. Patrick Monteverde of the baseball team took home the Male Freshman Athlete of the Year honor.

Kellen Phillips was recognized with the Elaine F. Sears Courage Award, as were Mat and Krista Littleton as the award was given multiple people for the first time.

Phillips also brought home the W.B. Shafer, Jr. Scholar-Athlete Award, holding a 3.99 GPA as a biology major with a chemistry minor. Trevor Maloney earned the honor for the men, posting a 3.97 GPA as a biology major with a chemistry minor.

Several new awards this year were also on display, with all of the awards and their respective winners listed below:

Female Student-Athlete in a Supporting Role – LeAnn Adkins
Male Student-Athlete in a Supporting Role – Evan Hockensmith
Heart of the Marlin – Taylor Erby and Nick Williams
Individual Play of the Year – Marissa Coombs (second place finish in the mile at Indoor NCAAs)
Faculty Team Advisor Award – Genai Hill, men's basketball
Comeback Player of the Year – Tim Jones
Diane E. Hotaling Community Service Award – Women's Basketball
Upset of the Year – Baseball over #1 Shenandoah in final regular season series
Academic Team of the Year – Volleyball
Battered Fish Award – Meg Gerhart
Individual Performance of the Year – Hanna Hull (record-breaking 19 strikeouts against Bridgewater)
Coaching Staff of the Year – Softball
Team Performance of the Year – Softball defeating Emory & Henry in ODAC Championship
Team of the Year – Softball

If you missed this year's BOB Awards, you can watch the archive of it by clicking below:

2017 BOB Awards

Photo Gallery